It’s true that most of time, we spend making dying-whale noises and dying over and over again like Dean and Sam have. 

But there is more to it. We, fangirls, aren’t just good for nothing people. We aren’t some failures who are addicted to some weird things, according to some people. They laugh at us for being different. I laugh at them because they’re all the same. 

Fandom is the big kingdom, where all of us are Queens. 

Books, tv shows, movies are a gateway to run from reality. We run away from reality to save ourselves. We are not just simple fans who are like, “nice movie.”and move on with life. We invest ourselves into their world and we live in their reality. 

Isn’t it ironic that we use fiction to keep ourselves alive in reality?

We save ourselves from the reality because the reality sucks. We do not have Katniss Everdeen to stop our real world’s “President Snow”. We don’t have Hogwarts, which I would choose over Harvard University anytime. We don’t have Sam and Dean to kill monsters under my bed. 

The reality may suck but the fiction makes it worth living for. We choose to believe that there is a Katniss in our soul. We choose to believe that we are wizards and that we are hunters who kill supernatural beings. We escape reality as it haunts us. When we’re hurt, we run away to books. It gives us solace. We feel better. Truth is, some books will shred you to pieces but we choose this pain over the painful experiences in reality. 


I like to believe we are not just fangirls. We are FANWARRIORS

Coming to the fanatic side of ours, we are crazy. We are perfectly normal, organised and can continue to do well in life. But we have this alter-ego that we show only to fangirls. 


We are crazy, messed up people. When shit goes down in our fandom, we scream! Internally! πŸ˜… We scream with CAPITAL LETTERS. 

We have lots of ships and OTPs. And if something happens to our ships and OTPs, we go asdfghjklzxcvbnm……..

(And I am still not over Cas saying “I love you” to Dean! Damn it!)

Apart from just screaming all the time and fangirling hard. They taught me many things. Fandoms taught me many things that a school could never. 

I learnt about life. That we are strong when we believe in ourselves. And that you’re special and unique. And magic resides in you. Before, I was squeamish about gay people and didn’t consider LGBT issues much. Now, reading books, watching movies, I realised that you don’t choose who you love. I support LGBT and that they deserve happiness and love. 

Fandoms taught me how to live life. Forever grateful for saving me. 

And I feel so proud to be a fangirl. ❀️ 

It’s a lifestyle that I chose to live in. And I am proud of my decision. 

Ending this with a note- 

DESTIEL IS ALMOST CANON. I am dying, damn it!!!!!! 😍😍😭😭 

~Ankita Brahma ❀️

